Thinking of suicide or worried about someone you know? Call or text 9-8-8, toll-free, anytime, for support.

You are currently on the:

National Site

Visit our provincial websites

2007 CMHA National Award Winners

Toronto, October 29, 2007 – Each year, the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA), National honours individuals and organizations, including the media and government, for their leadership and contributions to mental health in their communities.

These national awards recognize the outstanding efforts of individuals and organizations, including CMHA volunteers and staff members in communities from coast-to-coast-to coast throughout Canada, who exemplify the vision and mission of the Association.

“These annual awards represent a unique opportunity for CMHA to celebrate such a talented and dedicated group of individuals who have a positive impact on the mental health of Canadians at the community level,” says Dr. Taylor Alexander, CEO, CMHA, National. “We’ll continue to encourage nominations for such outstanding individuals across Canada, in the years ahead.”

“As Canada’s largest mental health association, we are very excited about being able to celebrate these individuals in their work as mental health leaders,” says Judith Watson, President, Board of Directors, CMHA, National.

CMHA proudly salutes this year’s award winners and applauds their many efforts to make a difference in mental health in their communities and in Canada. This year’s recipients include:

*Dr. Austin Mardon, Edmonton, Alberta. The C. M. Hincks Award honours the founder of the Canadian Mental Health Association, Clarence Meredith Hincks, for his spirit and social commitment. It is our highest award and it is presented annually to one outstanding individual or organization which has advanced mental health in Canada through their work/volunteer activities by working on behalf of people with mental illness.

*Keith Lowe, Winnipeg, Manitoba. The Outstanding Volunteer Service Award celebrates a volunteer who has given considerable time and effort to many different services provided by the CMHA, and has had a positive impact across Canada.

*Christina Papadoupolos, Durham, Ontario. The CMHA Staff Award is presented to any individual CMHA employee or team which has shown significant leadership within the Association at the local, regional, provincial, territorial or national level.

*Renita Picton, Calgary, Alberta. The Non-Consumer Involvement Award honours an individual or group for the work they have accomplished in promoting and facilitating consumer participation within the CMHA and beyond.

*CMHA, Manitoba for their Partnership for Consumer Empowerment’s Program: Inspiring Communities through Recovery Stories. The Edward Pennington Innovation Award was created by the CMHA in 2003 to honour Edward J. Pennington, General Director of the CMHA National Office, for his 15 years of service and to celebrate innovative mental health programs at the local, regional, provincial or national level of CMHA. It recognizes significant community development, mental health promotion projects or programs that exemplify team leadership and innovation in the
mental health field.

*Shawn Wilson, Peterborough, Ontario. The Mental Health in the Workplace Award was established in 1988 as part of the CMHA’s Mental Health in the Workplace Project. And it honors leaders in the promotion of mental health in the workplace.

*Monique W. Dull (Scholar and Broadcaster), Vancouver, B.C. The Media Award for Mood Hygiene, CBC Radio One. Inaugurated in 1991, this award honours those representatives in the media who have made outstanding contributions to the coverage of mental health issues in Canada.

*The Freddi Ford Award was presented to Christine Cieslar at the Canadian Association of Suicide Prevention on October 5, 2007. The Freddi Ford Award is given by the CMHA, in partnership with the Canadian Association of Suicide Prevention, each year to an outstanding volunteer who has been actively involved in supporting survivors of suicide.