Thinking of suicide or worried about someone you know? Call or text 9-8-8, toll-free, anytime, for support.

You are currently on the:

National Site

Visit our provincial websites

2003 CMHA National Award Winners

The National Awards program recognizes the outstanding efforts of CMHA volunteers and staff members in communities throughout Canada who exemplify the spirit of the Association. CMHA salutes the award winners for their efforts to make a difference in mental health in Canada. In 2003, the recipients of awards were as follows:

C.M. Hincks Award

Named for our founder, this award recognizes an outstanding individual or organization that has advanced mental health in Canada through their work/volunteer activities. In 2003, it was presented to two individuals: Ken Ross, Assistant Deputy Minister of Health for New Brunswick, and Bonnie Pape, CMHA National Director of Programs and Research. Ken has been a powerful voice for the reform of mental health systems and has worked to ensure that mental health services are protected and continue to evolve. Bonnie has been a champion on behalf of consumers. She is an accomplished author whose work has advanced the cause of mental health across the country and internationally.

Marjorie Hiscott Keyes Award

Delores (Dolly) Ablitt, a Registered Psychiatric Nurse on the Psychiatric Ward at Stanton Territorial Hospital, received this award in recognition of her caring, practical, hands-on approach and supportive personality.

Outstanding Volunteer Service

Lucette Cote was honoured for 34 years of dedicated volunteerism at all levels of CMHA in Quebec City. She has served as Branch President, Division President and on the National Board. Double platinum recording artist, Chantal Krevaziuk, was recognized for helping to increase awareness amongst young people by recording a PSA encouraging Canadians to become educated about mental illness and inviting CMHA to distribute information at her concerts.

Media Award

This award went to Naked Creative Consultancy for their desire to use the media to help overcome the stigma surrounding mental illness. The agency donated their creation and production of compelling English and French television PSAs for CMHA.

Consumer Participation Award

Roy Muise, of Halifax, was honoured for his self determination and strong sense of advocacy. Having lived with depression for many years, Roy returned to work and supports others as the CMHA Halifax Board Chair. He is a passionate advocate for individuals and at the policy level.

Aleck Trawick Q.C. Award

Hiltz and Szigeti, LLP Barristers and Solicitors, were presented this award for their extraordinary legal advocacy. In representing more than 200 clients before the Consent and Capacity Board, the firm’s cases have set precedents that affect how the mental health system operates.

Staff Award

This award is presented to an individual or staff team who has shown significant leadership and innovation in promoting mental health in their region. Patricia (Trish) Cameron, former Executive Director, CMHA Calgary Branch, was honoured for her dedication to promoting mental health.

National Distinguished Service Awards

The National Distinguished Service Award commends one exemplary volunteer in each of the Association’s Divisions.

Kathleen Frei (Alberta)

Bob Curle (Manitoba)

Armand Savoie (New Brunswick)

Sandra M. Burke (Newfoundland and Labrador)

Hendrika Nind (Northwest Territories)

Jean Hughes (Nova Scotia)

Judy Coulman (Ontario)

Bob Bentley (Prince Edward Island)

Lucette Côté (Québec)

Eric Braun (Saskatchewan)