Thinking of suicide or worried about someone you know? Call or text 9-8-8, toll-free, anytime, for support.

You are currently on the:

National Site

Visit our provincial websites

2001 CMHA National Award Winners

The National Awards program recognizes the outstanding efforts of CMHA volunteers and staff members in communities throughout Canada who exemplify the spirit of the Association. CMHA salutes the award winners for their efforts to make a difference in mental health in Canada. In 2001, the recipients of awards were as follows:

C.M. Hincks Award

Dr. Paula Goering for honouring the spirit and social commitment of the Canadian Mental Health Association founder.

Marjorie Hiscott Keyes Award

Jack Beatty for his interest, compassion and understanding as a psychiatric nurse working with persons with mental illness.

Outstanding Volunteer Service

Nancy Redekop for her hard work, time and effort towards many different services provided by CMHA in the field of mental health.

Media Award

William J. MacPhee

Consumer Participation Award

Janice Arnoldi

Henry Eitzen

Kristin Tokarsky

Aleck Trawick Award

Community Legal Assistance Society (CLAS)

Emery Jamieson

National Distinguished Service Awards

R. Harold McBain (Alberta)

Sri Pendakur (British Columbia)

Numa Dumont (New Brunswick)

Angus Newman (Newfoundland and Labrador)

Ivan Isenor (Ontario)

Gerald Gillis (Prince Edward Island)

Erskine Sandiford (Saskatchewan)

Léo Rioux & Alice Berger (Québec)

Staff Award

Eric Macnaughton for his exemplary efforts as a CMHA staff member.