Thinking of suicide or worried about someone you know? Call or text 9-8-8, toll-free, anytime, for support.

You are currently on the:

National Site

Visit our provincial websites

2000 CMHA National Award Winners

The National Awards program recognizes the outstanding efforts of CMHA volunteers and staff members in communities throughout Canada who exemplify the spirit of the Association. CMHA salutes the award winners for their efforts to make a difference in mental health in Canada. In 2000, the recipients of awards were as follows:

C.M. Hincks Award

Dennis Anderson for honouring the spirit and social commitment of the Canadian Mental Health Association founder.

Marjorie Hiscott Keyes Award

Audrey Baird for her interest, compassion and understanding as a psychiatric nurse working with persons with mental illness.

Outstanding Volunteer Service

Sharon Barnes and Doug Baxter for their hard work, time and effort towards many different services provided by CMHA in the field of mental health.

Media Award

CBC Radio One 990 (Produced by George Stephenson / Presented by Louise Charette)

Consumer Participation Award

Rodger Baggs (consumer) for his self-determination and advocacy as exemplified by the late Nadine Stirling.

Debbie Sue Martin (non-consumer) for her work in promoting and facilitating consumer participation.

Aleck Trawick Award

Arch Legal Resource Centre for Persons with Disabilities

National Distinguished Service Awards

Beth Sykes (Alberta)

Marvin Fried (Manitoba)

Brenda Seeley (New Brunswick)

Judy Power (Newfoundland and Labrador)

William Braden (Northwest Territories)

Work and Well-Being Award

Canadian National EFAP Program for their promotion of mental health in the workplace and cooperation between employees and community agencies within the workplace.

Staff Award

Moyra Buchan for her exemplary efforts as a CMHA staff member.